GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2019

Н

HOUSE BILL 262 PROPOSED COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE H262-PCS40237-BA-5

Short Title: Designate Transylvania Cty Land of Waterfalls.

(Public)

Sponsors:

Referred to:

March 5, 2019

1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
2	AN ACT DESIGNATING THE CITY OF BREVARD, TOWN OF ROSMAN, AND
3	TRANSYLVANIA COUNTY AS NORTH CAROLINA'S OFFICIAL LAND OF
4	WATERFALLS.
5	Whereas, Transylvania County has 250 official waterfalls; and
6	Whereas, "Land of Waterfalls" has been used to describe the area since the early
7	1900s, including the City of Brevard's and Transylvania County's official seal and logo,
8	respectively; and
9	Whereas, this area has a long history as a tourist destination, with enjoyment of
10	waterfalls consistently listed on visitor surveys as a primary reason for visitation; and
11	Whereas, this area features numerous iconic and nationally known waterfalls, like
12	Looking Glass Falls, Sliding Rock, Hooker Falls, High Falls, Triple Falls, Rainbow Falls, and
13	more; and
14	Whereas, Transylvania County's iconic waterfalls have been a part of dozens of
15	feature films, including Thunder Road, The Last of the Mohicans, and The Hunger Games, as
16	well as many national television shows like Lassie and The Oprah Winfrey Show; and
17	Whereas, Transylvania County is blessed with five public lands-Pisgah National
18	Forest, DuPont State Recreational Forest, Gorges State Park, Headwaters State Forest, and
19	Nantahala National Forest—all of which celebrate their own unique waterfalls; and
20	Whereas, millions of visitors come to the area annually to visit the many waterfalls;
21	and
22	Whereas, this area is considered as a highly desirable place to live with the incredible
23	outdoor opportunities, including enjoyment of waterfalls, as a top reason; and
24	Whereas, the City of Brevard, the Town of Rosman, and Transylvania County should
25	be designated as North Carolina's official land of waterfalls; Now, therefore,
26	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
27	SECTION 1. Chapter 145 of the General Statutes is amended by adding a new
28	section to read:
29	" <u>§ 145-52. Official land of waterfalls.</u>
30	The City of Brevard, the Town of Rosman, and Transylvania County are designated as North
31	Carolina's official land of waterfalls."

32 **SECTION 2.** This act is effective when it becomes law.



D