

SENATE BILL 813: Asheville City Council Districts.

2017-2018 General Assembly

Committee:	Senate Rules and Operations of the Senate	Date:	June 21, 2018
Introduced by:	Sen. Edwards	Prepared by:	Jessica Sammons
Analysis of:	First Edition		Staff Attorney

OVERVIEW: Senate Bill 813 would amend the Charter for the City of Asheville to provide for the election of five city council members from single-member electoral districts and one city council member elected at-large, beginning with the 2019 municipal election.

CURRENT LAW: The City Council of the City of Asheville consists of six members and a mayor, all elected at-large for staggered four-year terms. Each odd-numbered year, three members of the city council are elected. The mayor was last elected in 2017 for a term expiring in 2021. Elections are conducted on a nonpartisan basis, and the results are determined using the nonpartisan primary and election method.

BILL ANALYSIS: Senate Bill 813 would amend the Charter for the City of Asheville to provide, beginning with the 2019 municipal election, for the election of six city council members as follows:

- One member nominated and elected from the City at-large.
- Five members elected from single-member electoral districts. (Please see the attached map for the proposed electoral districts.)

To implement the staggering of four-year terms, in the 2019 election, those persons elected from District 1, District 2, and from the City at-large would stand for election for a four-year term, and those persons elected from District 3, District, 4, and District 5 would stand for election for a two-year term.

EFFECTIVE DATE: Effective when it becomes law, and applies to elections held on or after that date.

BACKGROUND: S.L. 2017-83 directed the City of Asheville to create six single-member electoral districts for city council members, for use in the 2019 municipal election, by November 1, 2017.

Karen Cochrane-Brown Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578

This bill analysis was prepared by the nonpartisan legislative staff for the use of legislators in their deliberations and does not constitute an official statement of legislative intent.